What's new

When to make an alt vs multiple skillsets?

Hamberglar

I'm new to Archeage (I played back in 1.0, but quit when I hit level cap). I'm currently about to cap my daggerspell, and was thinking I'd like to try both darkrunner and primeval. If i just loaded up bonestalker and did the leveling over again, I'd have everything I need.

Now, my question is: Would it just make more sense for me to make a new character with each spec that I want? Capping takes basically no time at all on these rates.

Sorry if this is the wrong subforum, by the way. There's not a "questions and answers" section as far as I can see.

I'd say just level all skillsets to save time, resources, convenience, etc. And switching classes only costs pocket change. There's really no benefit of creating an alt character on the basis of class, even if just experimental. Nobody really sticks to just one class anyway, and you'll find that having all maxed skillsets are the norm.

A good way you can do this is by fishing, crafting, or any general way you earn exp. If you're out in the world, I recommend only leveling one skill tree at a time so you don't hinder your fighting ability by much.

No need to switch chars for other classes, I agree. Not only is it cheap to switch and easy to level everything, you also get achievement rewards like merits and titles.

And also it helps with raising a proficiency on your character and not let that work go to waste;-)

No need to switch chars for other classes, I agree. Not only is it cheap to switch and easy to level everything, you also get achievement rewards like merits and titles.

And also it helps with raising a proficiency on your character and not let that work go to waste;-)

I would comment that gear isn't quite so easy to obtain as you're making out. Yes you can make a (grand) obsidian set, but then your GS is only like 2.5k

And having a second character to play can't be entirely a bad idea. Some of us do like playing alts.